Author Topic: trying qf mod on pb6  (Read 9120 times)

M4BHoward

  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #30 on: February 27, 2011, 10:10:23 PM »
Did you install both the QF PB6 patches, or just this one?

Also, take a look at your log. It's all printed out in there.

I put the mod then its patch then the fix. It looks like ZE is the culprit.

ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|326    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\Missions\Multiplayer\ZEmod07\ESAF_Skins\HighRes DXT\callisto.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|326    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\QF DXTBZ2 Fix\QF DXTBZ2\callisto.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|329    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\Missions\Multiplayer\ZEmod07\ESAF_Skins\HighRes DXT\io.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|329    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\QF DXTBZ2 Fix\QF DXTBZ2\io.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|330    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\Missions\Multiplayer\ZEmod07\ESAF_Skins\HighRes DXT\ispilo00.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|330    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\QF DXTBZ2 Fix\QF DXTBZ2\ispilo00.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|330    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\Missions\Multiplayer\ZEmod07\ESAF_Skins\HighRes DXT\ivconst00.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|330    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\QF DXTBZ2 Fix\QF DXTBZ2\ivconst00.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|331    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\Missions\Multiplayer\ZEmod07\ESAF_Skins\HighRes DXT\reflection3.dxtbz2
ERR |             filesys:80   |12:06:02|331    |File clash: @rootdir\addon\QF DXTBZ2 Fix\QF DXTBZ2\reflection3.dxtbz2

That would be it. :P

I suppose mods sometimes clash with each other... I'll have to keep an eye out for that. The quickest fix would be to delete (or temporarily move) the offending files from my QF fix folder (as long as ZE mod has the textures, everything will work fine.)

Second option, of course, is to remove the textures from ZE mod's folder (same concept; any files in the addon folder seems to be used by battlezone REGARDLESS OF MOD.)

This may not be true for mods that install their own addon folder (e.g. EPIC MOD,) but in general the addon folder seems to be all-inclusive.
Every Noob has his day... :D

AHadley

  • Global Moderator
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
  • Controller Node
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #31 on: February 28, 2011, 02:51:52 AM »
The textures, whilst having the same name, are different - so if you want this to work properly in the addon folder, one or the other will need to be patched.

Solution: Use QF's specific addon folder QFaddon instead.

Which folders are seen by the game are defined by the corresponding *bzone.cfg
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 02:52:40 AM by AHadley »
Quote from: Katrina Cooke
The Cerberi. Fate's cruel and heartless practical joke on humanity. And this? This is the punchline.

M4BHoward

  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #32 on: February 28, 2011, 12:06:02 PM »
The textures, whilst having the same name, are different - so if you want this to work properly in the addon folder, one or the other will need to be patched.

Solution: Use QF's specific addon folder QFaddon instead.

Which folders are seen by the game are defined by the corresponding *bzone.cfg

I've checked my QF install for an indigenous addon folder: the QF mod does NOT install its own.

I guess it would be possible to modify the .cfg and create a specific QF addon, but I don't have that knowledge yet.

The textures, whilst having the same name, are different - so if you want this to work properly in the addon folder, one or the other will need to be patched.

Of course, option three would be to only have QF mod OR ZE mod installed at a time... What kind of patching do you mean?
Every Noob has his day... :D

AHadley

  • Global Moderator
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
  • Controller Node
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #33 on: February 28, 2011, 05:24:07 PM »
I've checked my QF install for an indigenous addon folder: the QF mod does NOT install its own.

Of course, option three would be to only have QF mod OR ZE mod installed at a time... What kind of patching do you mean?

If you install the QF 1.1 patch, you'll find you get a QFaddon folder.

The kind of patching I mean would be changing the textures to use a more unique name - which would require modification of the models. Not easy when they're munged into .msh, unless you want to hex-edit them.
Quote from: Katrina Cooke
The Cerberi. Fate's cruel and heartless practical joke on humanity. And this? This is the punchline.

M4BHoward

  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #34 on: February 28, 2011, 06:47:13 PM »
If you install the QF 1.1 patch, you'll find you get a QFaddon folder.

The kind of patching I mean would be changing the textures to use a more unique name - which would require modification of the models. Not easy when they're munged into .msh, unless you want to hex-edit them.

Hmmm... I'll try reinstalling the 1.1 patch (didn't seem to add the QFaddon the first time.)

Yeah, that would be extensive patching... I certainly don't have model editing skills yet.  I suppose you'd have to re-write the new texture filename into every model where the texture was required. :P

Thanks for your expert input! :)
Every Noob has his day... :D

Josiah

  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #35 on: February 28, 2011, 06:58:09 PM »
it'd be way easier to put the stuff in QFaddon, like AH said, than to redo all the models...

M4BHoward

  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #36 on: March 01, 2011, 09:40:45 AM »

If you install the QF 1.1 patch, you'll find you get a QFaddon folder.
Hmmm... I'll try reinstalling the 1.1 patch (didn't seem to add the QFaddon the first time.)
Every Noob has his day... :D

M4BHoward

  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #37 on: March 04, 2011, 11:01:43 PM »
Well, I tried reinstalling the patch... It doesn't seem to make a qfaddon or fix the .cfg to accept it.

So I poked around with the .cfg, added the qfaddon, et viola! :D

Would be nice if the installer would do it by itself though... average users shouldn't need to have to figure out .cfg files. :P
Every Noob has his day... :D

AHadley

  • Global Moderator
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
  • Controller Node
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #38 on: March 05, 2011, 01:52:01 PM »
I would correct thee by saying that average users should know CFG files already :P

Also, I am updating Fleshstorm. Expect a release sometime soon.
Quote from: Katrina Cooke
The Cerberi. Fate's cruel and heartless practical joke on humanity. And this? This is the punchline.

M4BHoward

  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #39 on: March 05, 2011, 10:53:13 PM »
Sweet! :D
Every Noob has his day... :D

M4BHoward

  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #40 on: March 09, 2011, 11:34:01 PM »
Well, final tally of compatibility errors I found when testing QF on Beta 6:

1. Certain textures (large trees, sky domes, etc.) are missing. (Yay rainbows! :P) Possibly fixable... silly old power-2-size! >:(

2. Mission 11 (S&R finds you near a large 3-way air battle, escort engineers, protect dropship,) did not finish properly.  Once the dropship is repaired, you are ordered to get inside for takeoff.  I got in; it never took off.  I assumed that was the end of the mission: "game.cheat bzwinner"

Those are the only problems I ran into. Problem #2 may be specific to my computer; I've had similar problems playing FE. Other than that, GREAT compatibility! :D

NOTE: I have not beaten bonus mission #2 yet, due to INSANE difficulty. (That stupid engineer taking the wrong turn EVERY time!!! lol) Thus, I have not played through ALL the missions yet.  If there's a problem with the bonus missions, sorry.  I didn't get there.:P


EDIT: I finally beat the second bonus mission. No errors.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2011, 12:09:03 PM by M4BHoward »
Every Noob has his day... :D

AHadley

  • Global Moderator
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
  • Controller Node
    • View Profile
Re: trying qf mod on pb6
« Reply #41 on: March 10, 2011, 02:56:23 AM »
I'll give this a go once I've finished Fleshstorm.
Quote from: Katrina Cooke
The Cerberi. Fate's cruel and heartless practical joke on humanity. And this? This is the punchline.