Author Topic: Fresh Start  (Read 6307 times)

VSMIT

  • Factions
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 742
  • Resident Mac Guy
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2009, 10:58:13 PM »
Closest is boxCollide, I think.

VSMIT.

IQ's have really dropped around here just recently, must be something in the water.

TheJamsh

  • phpBB EPIC_core_team
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 1066
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2009, 08:24:59 AM »
I wish man i wish :P. trouble is it would be damn EXPENSIVE on cpu time...

BZ2 uses spheres for lots of things... even defining where the 'shield' effect should be drawn. Unless youre vehicle is in actual fact a building, tis not possible.

Could a .dll be used to move and control a building like a vehicle? (cue Nielk1).

Click Me!

Nielk1

  • Administrator
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 1827
  • The ISDF Man
    • View Profile
    • Battlezone Complex
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2009, 10:49:07 AM »
Moving buildings have issues with non-normalized matrices. Though I have found most effect tapping an invisible structure to a unit

DLL can move buildings, BEST if you never change their pitch and hence only send in position vectors or matrices with no rotation.

Building for a unit frame is much to unstable, sorry. I still have yet to try something without a terrain ownership however.

Click on the image...
Quote from: Lizard
IQ's have really dropped around here just recently, must be something in the water.

Rocket

  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 302
  • Never judge an enemy by the size of the radar blip
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2009, 08:24:10 PM »
I sure do wish the "FVSAV" didn't have a spherical collision, i sure do hate bumping into nothingness underneath it :P

Besides, the fury didn't have a shield in bz1.... And it would work much better with a box collision anyway.

Hmm, a moving building... Wouldn't it make the terrain all funny? (funny strange, not funny, :D)


EDIT: hey, i just noticed, i can't see Avatar's Avatar, and i can't see AHadley's siggy or Avatar

anyone else have this problem?
« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 09:15:32 PM by Rocket »
-- Hidden Defenders Mod Leader
-- Lordtac's RV Contributor.
-- ARC Mod Contributor

VSMIT

  • Factions
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 742
  • Resident Mac Guy
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2009, 09:47:28 PM »
No, because they aren't using avatars or sigs (In AHadley's case).

IQ's have really dropped around here just recently, must be something in the water.

bigbadbogie

  • Guest
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #20 on: April 21, 2009, 09:58:20 PM »
Yes he is.

They are just little white boxes with X though...

Just means that the pics are missing.

VSMIT

  • Factions
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 742
  • Resident Mac Guy
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2009, 10:17:00 PM »
Interesting.  I don't get those.  I'd usually get a "broken image" image, but I don't here.

IQ's have really dropped around here just recently, must be something in the water.

TheJamsh

  • phpBB EPIC_core_team
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 1066
    • View Profile
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #22 on: April 22, 2009, 05:24:01 PM »
anti-virus might be blocking the image host site. happens to me occasionally. used to happen with BBB's QF2 sig.

Click Me!

Ded10c

  • Loremaster, Archivist
  • Global Moderator
  • BZ2 Fanatic
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
    • View Profile
    • Battlezone Wiki
Re: Fresh Start
« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2009, 01:05:58 AM »
Yes he is.

They are just little white boxes with X though...

Just means that the pics are missing.
I can't see them either, but I didn't realise I'd uploaded anything. If I had, it's the same images as on BZU.